Is it possible to convert a BBS01 250 W to 350 W

Martinvg

Finding my (electric) wheels
Jun 21, 2018
Hi,

A I am new to the e-bikes conversion kits, and I know little of Volts /Watts / Amps.
So I have Some questions......

Last week I have mounted a BBS01b 250W on my Trek 300T.
Now I have orderd a USB-cable so I can tweak the BBS01b. I think the ‘Keep Current’ has a very low ‘factory adjustment’, becaus it stopts assisting at max 25 kmh (Max speed in display was set to 50 kmh).

First question:
Is it that easy to convert a BBS01b 250W to 350W by just changing the Current Limit from 15Ah to 18Ah? Or do you also have to change the controller software / firmeware? (Or even the controller itself?).

After Reading several forums / topics, there is a change that changing the Current Limit to 18 Ah, can result in a ‘error’ on display or a overheating motor.....

So is the 250W just the same motor a the 350W? Or is the 350W aquiped with a 18Ah controller.

Second question:
My battery is 15 Ah. So is it possible to change the Current Limit to 18Ah? (Because my battery is only 15 Ah).

Martin.

Nealh

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 7, 2014
West Sx RH
Hello Martin and welcome seems know one else is greeting you today.

Nealh

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 7, 2014
West Sx RH
It appears the new B versions are throwing up error codes adjusting amps to high, to go 18a you will need to buy the correct rated controller.
The speed is probably limited in the software under PAS tab or throttle tab, often it is set for ' By display command'
but also may be set at 25km/h which you can adjust.
Also the Basic tab may have amp % & speed % set at conservative limits again all can be tweaked with the cable and software program.

Nealh

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 7, 2014
West Sx RH
Battery capacity is ah or wh , controller rating is straight forward amps not ah.