250w vs 500w

CerIs

Finding my (electric) wheels
Oct 18, 2015
Hi, ebike newbie here and legalities aside im torn beside a 250w and 500w motor. Originally the 500 appealed for the extra speed/power but as I was driving the car at 20 yesterday I thought "I really dont need to be doing any more than 20mph on a bicycle", ill be using it for a 16 mile round trip to work.

So my question is how hard is it to get an ebike from 15mph to 20mph, given flat ground and reasonably fit rider? I ask because I read on another post here that going from 15 to 20 is not same as 0mph to 5mph, wind resistance etc? Any advice appreciated.

Thanks C

JohnCade

Esteemed Pedelecer
May 16, 2014
Depends on the bike and tyres fitted and how well it rolls. I can get my Kalkhoff Agutta up to over 20mph on the flat but can’t hold it there too long as the weight tells when the road rises just a tiny bit. Just under that at about 19 mph can be held much better. The Kalkhoff cuts out at a smidgin over 17mph and is legal.

Lighter 250W kit converted bikes would be easier to keep the speed with even if the cut out was left at 25kph. Many people change the cut out on the Chinese bikes LCD and then the bike can hold over 20mph quite easily. If illegally. You don’t need a 500W bike for that.

RobF

Esteemed Pedelecer
Sep 22, 2012
Wind resistance means each extra mph is harder to get the faster you are going.

That applies to any bike, powered or not.

Don't take too much notice of watt ratings, all motors peak much higher and the markings on some motors may be 'marks of convenience' to make them appear legal.

Which bikes or kit motors are you thinking of?

CerIs

Oct 18, 2015
Which bikes or kit motors are you thinking of?
Was originally thinking about a cyclotricity but they have a wait time till after xmas.