48v systems

Michael Tame

Just Joined
Nov 25, 2017
UK
Hi guys. I was hoping that you could help. I'm quite new to this game. I am looking at this possibility of importing ebikes into the uk. The ones that i am looking at have rear hub motors and 48v systems (13 & 16ah). I have found that there are hardly any 48v systems available in the UK. Is there any reason for this? I can't find any regulations that say they are illegal. And there are one or two out there. Is there a problem with our power supply? Or do the brits just prefer 36v? In Germany, most rear hub motor bikes use a 48v system, and they seem to know a lot more about ebikes than we do! Please help!

D

Deleted member 4366

If the bikes you import have an EN15194 certificate, you have nothing to worry about as long as you check with the test house that the certificate is genuine. Many have been photo-shopped from valid ones.

48v is better than 36v in every respect, except maybe getting the bike certified. Anybody that tried 48v would prefer it, but most don't get the chance.

Last edited by a moderator:
  • Agree
Reactions: anotherkiwi

anotherkiwi

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jan 26, 2015
The European Union
The thing is that EN15194 says 48v maximum and a 48v battery is 54.6v hot off the charger...

The German guys break the law quite a bit power wise, they are law abiding when it comes to safety though, I don't think you would find many riding recklessly around other people. But out on the open road...

D

Deleted member 4366

The thing is that EN15194 says 48v maximum and a 48v battery is 54.6v hot off the charger...

The German guys break the law quite a bit power wise, they are law abiding when it comes to safety though, I don't think you would find many riding recklessly around other people. But out on the open road...
It doesn't say 48v maximum. It says for electric bikes up to 48v, but it doesn't qualify that statement, so it's open to interpretation.

Danidl

Esteemed Pedelecer
Sep 29, 2016
Ireland