About to take the plunge... final advice please

DBrown67

Pedelecer
Feb 26, 2017
Leeds
About to order a rear 350W BPM kit with 20 amp controller and 36V / 17AH battery. Buying kit from a reputable dealer as I want some backup. This is my first build.

It's going into a Giant Escape 1 model. I test rode Oxygen S-Cross CB and Wisper SE bikes today and I liked them both. Oxygen a bit more stylish and had lots of power range. Wisper actually felt more comfortable but didn't feel like it had the power "headroom" the Oxygen had and the frame was a bit small for me at over 6" and 95kgs. Anyway, I digress...

My Giant is like an old pair of slippers and it's cheaper to convert than buy new. I just weighed it today and it's 13kgs so should be a good few kgs lighter than a new bike when done. I think? (Though a bit arbitary when a fat git like me climbs aboard)

I'm no speed demon. I like to cruise at around 17-20mph on the flat. I keep the speed to 25mph on downhills, so I'm a bit of a wuss. :p Torque and hill climbing is my main requirement. The bikes I rode today were perfectly fine... but I wanted a bit more. Greedy perhaps? How much of a boost will that kit give over those bikes? I'm quite happy to pedal along and put some effort in. I won't rely on pushing a throttle.

I know some people are gonna say get the 500W motor but will that negate the range of the 17AH battery? My supplier doesn't offer 500W kits that I know of anyway.Will that motor be better on a different battery? 48V? Just some possible tweaks to the order. I'm not gonna sway much.

I've been looking into this for a while now and with so many options it gets intimidating. I need to finally nail this tomorrow get the order in, and get riding my bike!

Woosh

Trade Member
May 19, 2012
Southend on Sea
wooshbikes.co.uk
if you like the Oxygen, the BPM has grunt but less refined. The 48V SWX02 kit is much more like it, but with more torque than both the Oxygen and the BPM.

Woosh

Trade Member
May 19, 2012