Advice most appreciated

Kathy Morgan

Finding my (electric) wheels
Oct 2, 2016
Oldham
Hi
I am a newbie and would love some advice! I am looking for a bike to commute a rather hilly area, 12 miles a day, step through, I am on 5'4 and 85 kilos approx (but it is going down :)
I am happy to pay up to 1300 or so, and the lighter the better, though I am realistic.

Any advice.? So far I am looking at the Volt Kensington, Juicy Classic A2B Ferber and Galvani

any ideas?!!

• Informative
Reactions: LeighPing

trex

Esteemed Pedelecer
May 15, 2011
woosh Santana2.
This one has a medium sized rear motor, Bafang SWX02, smaller and less powerful than the Bafang BPM on the Big Bears but still gives about 30% more pulling power and acceleration than the standard sized motors found on most bikes, so very suitable for your weight. £839 with 13AH battery, you get about 40 miles on a full charge, enough for 2 days, well within your commute without worrying about forgetting to recharge overnight. It is equiped for all weather riding, kevlar tyres, mudguards, lights and bell.

http://wooshbikes.co.uk/?santana2

• Informative

Angelnorth

Pedelecer
May 13, 2016
Hexham, Northumberland
Hello Kathy, welcome.

As a complete newbie I think your best bet is going to be to try some and see how you feel! What's right for one person is not necessarily right for the next and you'll learn a lot by testing a bike that you won't learn by reading about it.

With a starting point of Oldham I'd say you could do worse than hop in the car or on a train and visit Juicy HQ in New Mills - Bob stocks a range of bikes as well as his own Juicy brand so you'd be able to try out several on terrain that's probably quite similar to what you have around you. He's often around on the forum too.

Good luck finding something to suit!

Kathy Morgan

Oct 2, 2016
Oldham