advice on connectors please

barod

Pedelecer
Aug 17, 2017
Warrington
Hi there, my conversion project is making progress, so I'd welcome some advice now on making the connections to the controller, specifically the battery cables and the motor phase wires.

I read on another thread about the perils of poor connections, and that generally bullet connectors aren't highly thought of. What's a good alternative for the relatively high current battery cables? I've no knowledge in this area so I've been doing some googling and come across mention of an EC3 connector, which looks as though it might be suitable. Another possibility seems to be a KT60? I'd prefer not to simply solder, as then the battery will be permanently connected to the controller unless the wires are cut.

Also are there any suggestions for the 3 phase wires from the motor? Although I might just solder those anyway, since there's already a connector at the other end (the waterproof 9 pin plug).

Thanks in advance

D

Deleted member 4366

The bullets generally work OK, so nothing to panic about. Just make sure that they're tight. The phase wires are more problematic than the battery wires. If you're worried, just cut the connectors off and solder them together. Who ever takes the controller off afterwards? Even if you needed to, it's just as quick to cut the wires as it is to disconnect.

Nealh

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 7, 2014
West Sx RH
The only thing to watch out for with the bullets is the insulation covers, heat eventually gets to them and they shrink and split .

D C

Esteemed Pedelecer
Apr 25, 2013
The only thing to watch out for with the bullets is the insulation covers, heat eventually gets to them and they shrink and split .
I'm not an expert but that's my experience, solder seems to be the answer.
Dave.

anotherkiwi

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jan 26, 2015
The European Union
XT60 for me, I don't have a switch so the battery is unplugged from the controller every ride since June 2016.

Nealh