Another Newbie in (even more than normal) Wet Manchester - Freego Eagle good n bad

davef

Just Joined
Jul 13, 2012
Manchester
Hi All,
Just joined the forum - although I've 'lurked' reading for a while.
I've got a Freego Eagle 17.5A, a very dodgy back and plenty of time to play with the bike if I can work out how to use it underwater
I bought the bike late last year after going to the NEC Cycle show and took advantage of the extended show discount and after looking for any pitfalls people published in the forum
as such bought it in November...
I'm a total newbie to electric bikes - in fact I bought one purely for the fact that I basically couldn't ride up any inclines due to Spinal problems or ride very far

Freego advised I maybe should get a step through frame but my pride ( and belief that I'd get better/fitter) made me choose the Mountain Bike Frame . I also got the 17.5Amp battery .
Regretted the frame choice for the first few months but I've gradually increased in strength so now believe I've made the right choice in getting the mountain bike frame. Medical issue and weather have made rides not as frequent as I would like ...but when I've been out on the bike - Wow - Brilliant. Really pleased I got it

Overall I'm very pleased with it and I've not really got anything to compare with ( apart from test rides at the NEC) but if I was asked a Yes/No would I buy an Freego Eagle again - I'd say 'Yes' :)

Good
Power, fast , responsive , long range, looks good to me, centre stand. Don't need additional lights, built in carrier, twist throttle makes setting off on a hill a doddle which is so important to me

bad
I've had two main problems with the Eagle - one self inflicted - so its not really a bike problem , one a real problem for me.

The self inflicted....