Any thoughts on the Gtec Escent

jay-rider

Just Joined
Dec 18, 2017
Essex
Hi I am Jay,
I am new to ebikes. I am currently trialling the Gtec Escent and am looking for anyone with any experience or views on it?
I was looking for a commuting bike to and from work each way is about 14 miles(round trip 28miles). Its mainly cycle lanes and a few hills but nothing to challenging. I don't really want to work to hard on the ride so saving on changing and showering at work.
Any other suggestions would be great.

Thought I opt for the escent over the gtec sport as there was not much in the price and I thought I might get abit more top speed with gears on the Escent but kinda feels abit weird using a mtb to commute.
First ride today was ok but the battery seems to get me just about to work 14-15miles nowhere near the 30miles specified.

Any advice is welcome!
Cheers
J

D

Deleted member 4366

The price has come right down. It was £1900, which is much too much. I think they messed up on that one. The gearing is too low for riding on the road and the battery isn't big enough to ride off-road. They should have just added gears to the normal Gtech bike, which would have made it a lot better for very little cost. The MTB is quite good, but it needs a much bigger battery.

Last edited by a moderator:
  • Agree
Reactions: Wheel-E

jay-rider

Just Joined
Dec 18, 2017
Essex
Thank you Guys for the advise.
Don't suppose you would recommend anything that is in the same budget(1000-1300)?

Kudoscycles

Official Trade Member
Apr 15, 2011
www.kudoscycles.com
Jay-rider,apologies for pushing my own product,the Kudos Rapide or Sonata (step through) were specifically designed for commuting,both have 10Ah batteries,30 mile range,hydraulic brakes and the powerful BPM motor,price £1195.00
If you prefer a sports racing style of bike,the Kudos Stealth and Alamo at £995.00,please look on kudos cycles.
The spec is so much better value than the G-Tech,
KudosDave

Woosh

Trade Member
May 19, 2012