ASIAN HORNET ALERT.

Nealh

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 7, 2014
West Sx RH
As some of you know, as well as a pedelecer I am also an amateur/hobby beekeeper.

Currently our honey bees and almost every other living insect are about to become severely threatened following several incursions of the veracious Asian hornet (common name) or Vespa velutina (latin name), to date the UK Government National beekeeping unit of FERA have successfully contained and destroyed the half dozen siting's so far in the west country and a new siting confirmed along the South Coast in the last couple of days.

Once this veracious insect gets a proper hold in numbers with in our Island then Honeybee colony predation will be very high and at least 40% of managed colonies will come to grief.

Please if any one see's any unusual large dark wasp's of approx. 22mm - 25mm long to report the siting along with if possible a picture or dead specimen to this email address below
mailto:alertnonnative@ceh.ac.uk

Pics of AH/V.v

Stand out features are amber/orange face, yellow leg ends and last segment of the abdomen other wise it is dark in colour.

Link to web site and info on said Hornet, NOT TO BE CONFUSED WITH OUR NATIVE EUROPEAN BROWN/YELLOW HORNET WHICH IS LARGER AND OF LITTLE OR OF NO DANGER TO BEES.

http://www.nationalbeeunit.com/index.cfm?sectionid=117

A full size nest can produce approx. up to 9k individuals p.a and each individual capable of killing 25 - 35 insects a day, these nests during late summer can be huge and in France specimens of approx. 90cm/900mm dia have been found.

Last edited:

anotherkiwi

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jan 26, 2015
The European Union
When fishing we often have competitions on who can kill the most, they are carnivorous so attracted by the bait box.

Do not miss your kill! They are evil bar stewards and will attack you if you annoy them.

• Useful
Reactions: LeighPing

Nealh

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 7, 2014
West Sx RH