Badass Box v3.4

Discussion in 'Technical & FAQ' started by Rich_uk, Feb 13, 2018.

  1. Rich_uk

    Rich_uk Finding my (electric) wheels

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2018
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    West Midlands
    So I fitted the badass box to my bike, but no matter where I place the magnet the speedo always changes/drops at 10.1mph, isn't it supposed to get to 15.5mph before it drops and shows half the true speed? Also the speedo never gives the same reading as the GPS speedo on my phone, I'm getting sick of messing with it and seriously thinking of ditching it and getting the speedbox 2 instead, that one shows the true MPH at any speed.
     
  2. Rich_uk

    Rich_uk Finding my (electric) wheels

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2018
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Just read the small print on the speedbox and apparently it only shows kph accurately not mph, so I'll stick with the badass for now and wait until something better comes along.
     
  3. soundwave

    soundwave Pedelecer

    Joined:
    May 23, 2015
    Messages:
    7,423
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    after a while you wont even bother to look at it other than what mode you are in and how much batt is left.

    just load strava on ur phone and use that if you want to record data ;)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Rich_uk

    Rich_uk Finding my (electric) wheels

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2018
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    West Midlands
    I don't need to look at what mode I'm in I only use one mode, it's been on turbo since I got it I haven't even tried the other modes yet. I'm not fussed about data just like seeing how fast I'm going, I guess I could get a cheap basic fixed speedo.
     
  5. soundwave

    soundwave Pedelecer

    Joined:
    May 23, 2015
    Messages:
    7,423
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Rich_uk

    Rich_uk Finding my (electric) wheels

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2018
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    West Midlands
  7. soundwave

    soundwave Pedelecer

    Joined:
    May 23, 2015
    Messages:
    7,423
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    the motor could cause electromagnetic interference why i got a wired one.

    try it you never know it might work or it might not.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. Rich_uk

    Rich_uk Finding my (electric) wheels

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2018
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    West Midlands
    They're cheap as chips so worth a shot, I'll chuck it on one of the kids bikes if it doesn't work.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  9. Rich_uk

    Rich_uk Finding my (electric) wheels

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2018
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    West Midlands
  10. The Bear

    The Bear Pedelecer

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2017
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    South Yorks
    My Badass 3.4 doesn't display half my speed as it should. It is supposed to read normally until 15mph and then suddenly half as the speed increases. But mine doesn't. Its a shame, but I'm not overly bothered. I might buy a speedo as you are considering, an one with a clock to tell the time would be useful.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. The Bear

    The Bear Pedelecer

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2017
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    South Yorks
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. soundwave

    soundwave Pedelecer

    Joined:
    May 23, 2015
    Messages:
    7,423
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    i think mine goes half speed at 10mph ;)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. The Bear

    The Bear Pedelecer

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2017
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    South Yorks
    Mine get to 8mph quite quickly, then moves slowly to 10 or 11, then stops.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. soundwave

    soundwave Pedelecer

    Joined:
    May 23, 2015
    Messages:
    7,423
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    it should keep going up after 10mph mine just goes back to 5mph and then rises so when im at 15mph im going 30mph.

    you could try take the batts out the lcd to reset it and try that but it should not just stop?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. The Bear

    The Bear Pedelecer

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2017
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    South Yorks
    After checking my speedo today, it seems to behave just like yours. When I get to 10mph the display suddenly drops to about half.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    • Like Like x 1
  16. The Bear

    The Bear Pedelecer

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2017
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    South Yorks
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. Rich_uk

    Rich_uk Finding my (electric) wheels

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2018
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    West Midlands
    This is what mine does too.
     
  18. Rich_uk

    Rich_uk Finding my (electric) wheels

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2018
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Let me know how you get on. The batteries were dead in mine, not that I was fussed as when I bought mine I made an offer of £5 and he accepted, plus I deal in digital watches so have tons of batteries anyway.

    If yours are dead too get some from Poundland or similar or eBay, the speedo and the sender both take a CR2032 you can get pansonics from there 4 for £2 where some rip off places will charge you a fiver for one.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  19. The Bear

    The Bear Pedelecer

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2017
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    South Yorks
    Thanks for the info.

    As you experienced, the batteries supplied were dead. I have a few 2016 & 2025 batteries but don't have any 2032 type, so I'll pop to Poundland in the morning, or order from eBay if they don't have any.

    Ive fitted it loosely for now, until I get some batteries and check it works. Ive fitted the display to the handlebar stem....

    [​IMG]



    And the sensor & magnet to the front wheel, trying to get a <5mm distance between the two (no matter how much I tighten the magnet, it still pivots???)..

    [​IMG]
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #19 The Bear, Feb 22, 2018
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2018
    • Like Like x 1
  20. wheeliepete

    wheeliepete Pedelecer

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Devon/Dorset
    A strip of gaffa tape or similar round the spoke will help.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice