Bafang Max Drive

Rohloffboy

Esteemed Pedelecer
Sep 1, 2015
North West.
well I am new to all this ebike stuff, and still getting around on pedal power only.

But having come across the Bafang Max Drive, I am convinced that this is the way forward.

Been having a look at the YouTube stuff, and all is looking good, just a case of waiting now for UK dealers to grasp the nettle and offer this unit in various options, I can't help thinking that Bosch and Yamaha will be more than concerned about this upstart!

anotherkiwi

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jan 26, 2015
The European Union
It is a good motor but it is Chinese. What we really need is a cheap European motor of the same style. It isn't a crazy idea even Gocycle can make a cheap version of their bikes when they want to.

My preference is the Yamaha because it has normal chainrings and you can even have two if you need them! Bosch, bof! Brose why not but too high end expensive still.

Hope won't come from the UK (the market is too small) but maybe one of the French or Spanish cheaper bike assemblers will get it on their bikes?

D8ve

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jan 30, 2013
Bristol
What's up with Chinese gear?
Lots of stuff is made there. Give them the money and they won't just gold plate it, they would make it gold.

anotherkiwi

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jan 26, 2015
The European Union
What's up with Chinese gear?
Lots of stuff is made there. Give them the money and they won't just gold plate it, they would make it gold.
Tariffs, import duties, logistics... Nothing wrong with Chinese motors they make everything I ride anyway these days. Just that this specific motor needs a special frame to go in so you would most likely import the lot and we appear to be looking at anti dumping duties on Chinese e-bikes any day now...

Rohloffboy

Esteemed Pedelecer
Sep 1, 2015
North West.
I would have thought that a manufacturer could just buy in the Bafang Max Drive motor unit, and build into a UK or EU produced Max Drive specific frame.

Rohloffboy