beginner

john1234567

Finding my (electric) wheels
Mar 7, 2017
uk
Hello,

Cycle every day to work but there is a very large hill that I have to ascend in either direction and after a hard day at the office and at the end of the journey I have to do the Matterhorn and I just don't like it. My commute is about 15 miles round trip.

So my question is what would be the best starter kit for converting my old bike to electric rear wheel.

I'm a very good engineer so can make stuff work without being spoon fed or when things aren't ideal I know what to do. So I guess what I'm looking for is to decide what my specifications should be. I just want to be able to climb the hill and I can peddle for the rest. Of course I also want quality and reliability.

I've seen the kits on eBay ranging from £200 to £600. I could build my own from parts.

Are the brushless hub motors the best thing these days?

Nealh

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 7, 2014
West Sx RH
Brushless is the way to go and is the standard today for hubs, add a sinewave controller and you get a pretty quite set up.
Alternatively you can add a crank drive like the BBS01B from eme3v,Woosh, Eclipse or Brighton e bikes.

Building you own kit isn't always cheap but gives you a few more options as mostly you have to look to Chinese vendors for the parts, they are relatively cheap but you have to factor in air freight and duty and batteries can be got from the UK.

For hill climbing look for a hub drive with low rpm 201 or 260 would be all right and consider 48v over 36v as torque and speed will generally be 25% more.
How heavy are you because depending on your weight you could get away with a lighter motor.

john1234567

Mar 7, 2017
uk
I'd have to estimate my weight as I don't weigh myself much. I reckon a fairly average 12 stone would be a good guess.