Boardman Team Hybrid custom fitted with a Bafang BBS01b by Brighton eBikes

KentGuy

Finding my (electric) wheels
Mar 26, 2017
Kent
Review – Boardman Team Hybrid custom fitted with a Bafang BBS01b by Brighton eBikes

Total cost approx. £1,400

This is going to be a very long review, apologies in advance. It seems to me that there is such a huge diversity regarding what people are looking for from an eBike, that I wanted to give as much context as possible as to how I ended up with this one and what I expected of it. To help you combat the verbosity, I’ve split it into sections, so you can skip to any part you might be interested in.

Cycling background

I’m now 50, and I guess I’ve been cycling for about 10 years in a moderate-if-fair-weather kind of way. To me, there’s nothing better on a hot sunny day than a cycle round the local area – the uphills can be brutal, but the downhills of course divine. Come rain, cold or monstrous headwind however, and the fun goes fast, I’ll be honest. We have very mixed terrain near me in Kent, UK – there’s a decent amount of flat running east-west leading to moderate hills, then north-south you get the horror hills. After I’ve been riding for 2 or 3 months in the year (I don’t even think about it until the weather has begun to warm up a bit), I can make it up one of these great climbs at a dead slow pace. Usually that’s about it – at that point I’m seeking flats and downhills back to home. So my rides tend to be quite limited, and not especially long, usually between 45 and 90 mins. Typically I’m around an average of between 12-14mph depending on the route, wind and how late into the season it is – I’m faster later. Part of the cycling attraction is keeping fit, I tend to run 4-5k on alternate days with cycling if work and weather permit. In summary – well below the level of a serious club rider, but making some kind of moderate effort.