• Model

Votes: 1 100.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

Paige

Just Joined
Jul 27, 2017
Nashville, TN
I am a newbie pedelec, but not new to biking. I have a Bafang 750W mid drive, 44t chain ring with a 48V battery that was installed on an Iboc SX Mongoose mountain bike with shimano deore xt rear derailuer. From the get go, I was having problems with not being able to shift into 9th gear, slippage at 7-9th gear. I have had cog wheel replaced, chain replaced, and freewheel hub repacked and tightened, but I am still unable to shift to 9th. This bike has an aluminum frame and is older model and I am wondering if the frame may have too much flex for the power. Any suggestions? I bought the bike from a friend who installed a lot of high end gear and did not ride it much, but says it shifted fine before. I am about ready to pull motor off, and buy a new Specialized Cross Trail. Thanks

Emo Rider

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jan 10, 2014
I am a newbie pedelec, but not new to biking. I have a Bafang 750W mid drive, 44t chain ring with a 48V battery that was installed on an Iboc SX Mongoose mountain bike with shimano deore xt rear derailuer. From the get go, I was having problems with not being able to shift into 9th gear, slippage at 7-9th gear. I have had cog wheel replaced, chain replaced, and freewheel hub repacked and tightened, but I am still unable to shift to 9th. This bike has an aluminum frame and is older model and I am wondering if the frame may have too much flex for the power. Any suggestions? I bought the bike from a friend who installed a lot of high end gear and did not ride it much, but says it shifted fine before. I am about ready to pull motor off, and buy a new Specialized Cross Trail. Thanks
Firstly, have you have a bike shop have a look at the limit scew settings and cable adjustment?

Secondly, did you have the cassette replaced at the same time as the chain?

Finally, is you gear shifter on your handle bar Shimano or Sram?

Cheers

Fordulike