Choosing a DIY electric kit

D C

Esteemed Pedelecer
Apr 25, 2013
I have come to the conclusion that advancing years (66) and an ongoing left knee problem indicate that I should enhance my cycling pleasure and help to preserve my joints by fitting an electric motor to one off my existing bikes.
I have a 21inch Schwinn Rocket 88 with full suspension, one of the last original Schwinns circa 1999 which is in excellent condition and my favourite mountain bike of all time, I also have a slightly older but good quality hard tail Raleigh with suspension forks which I use with spiked tyres for use in icy winter conditions.
My riding is pretty much all off road and I still wish to pedal as much as possible without assistance, I would just like a little help on the longer runs and steeper hills of which there are plenty round here in the Scottish Highlands.
Although I've been riding and maintaining Mountain Bikes for around 35 years I have no experience of electric bikes at all and I've spent several hours doing on line research. By reason of cost and possible suitability I am drawn to the Alien Ocean road legal kit at around £550 or the Cyclotricity eKit basic at £399.
I would very much like to convert the Schwinn but there are a few difficulties. Due to the nature of the rear suspension a conventional rear carrier can't be fitted though I do use a seat post attached carrier which at 12 inches long and 4.5 inches wide looks big enough to take a battery, nor is there room on the frame for a drinks bottle type.
This would indicate that the Cyclotricity basic kit with the 36v 7ah seat post battery may be best, the Schwinn bottom bracket doesn't have a square taper meaning a pedelec system wouldn’t fit anyway. I would perhaps prefer a larger battery but the main problem for me is that I want to retain my existing combined brake/gear shifters and the kit comes with replacement brake levers rather than in line brake sensors which are available as an option for the Alien Ocean Kit.