Commuter bike Wisper 905 Torque or Oxygen MTB.....probably

Jerrymond

Pedelecer
Jul 10, 2017
Huddersfield
Hi All

I'm new to this and will try to post a strava result of my commute and a bit more background info later.

My commute is 14.5m each way (best time 1h22m) and bowl shaped (down hill, flatish, uphill).
When I tried it for a few months last year on my old Mongoose Tyax I could only manage to take the bike to work on my car.
Well I did ride it home and back again in the morning too but that was as much as I could manage.
I tried a couple of times to step it up to twice a week but my legs couldn't cope and the uphill bits at either end of my journey made it all a bit unpleasant.

I'm 5'9" and at least 3stone overweight at 16stone. I would like to commute 3 or 4 times a week and do some bike trails with my partner who is about to take delivery of her Wisper 705se very soon.

I think I'm edging towards the Wisper 905 Torque with the larger battery but can't afford the £1800 price. I would be wanting to put a £1000 cyclescheme voucher towards the price.

I have seen on Wisper website a Mk1 at £1399 which seems good value but not sure on all the differences between that and a mk2.

This whole e-bike thing can really send you round in circles so I have spent a while reading the forum and doing some basic test rides before coming on here.

Will the Wisper be up to dealing with some rough-ish paths (and even rougher roads!) and a bit of mud and gravel or should I reconsider the Oxygen MTB. Is it a tougher bike? Is that why it says MTB. I can't say I've ever actually done any real mountain biking but I've always had a mountain bike. Answers on a postcard or preferably on this post. Cheers guys.

P.s. This is a fantastic site with some great people on it but it's very addictive, even watching from the sidelines.

Jez

D

Deleted member 4366