considering a gearless hub kit

trex

Esteemed Pedelecer
May 15, 2011
Hi everyone,

Hub kits like the Bafang CST or BPM seem like the way to go but I thought there are a few disadvantages with geared hub motors:

1. wear and tear of the clutch and gearbox.
2. motor torque and efficiency drop after 10mph, this is where wind resistance becomes significant.
3. limited to 270 RPM.

I've been reading up on the Swiss GoDrive motor (cannot afford it but no harm in checking) and thought that perhaps if high power motors coupled to 36V 20A controller are not illegal as long as speed is restricted, the gearless motor seems to be a better choice if you ride mostly at over 10mph.

I have no experience of this type of motor and would appreciate if any member of the forum likes to share his/her knowledge.

D

Deleted member 4366

1. Wear ant tear on the clutch and gearbox is not a problem. When was the last time you heard of a problem.
2. Motor efficiency drops at low speed, but torque increases
3. Speed only depends on the winding, but the higher the top speed, the worse the low-speed efficiency.

Non-geared motors (DD) tend to suffer from points 2 and 3 worse, so no advantage at all. DD motors are a bit quieter and you can get regen, but on the negative side, they have more drag when power's off, and they have to be much bigger and heavier to get the same low-speed torque. If you want regen, you won't be able to free-wheel down-hill at much more than 15 mph, so, if you ride with friends, you won't be able to keep up unless they also have DD motors.

flecc

Oct 25, 2006