Daily 17km Commute - some steepish hills..

MostlyHarmless

Finding my (electric) wheels
Sep 8, 2018
Dear All, hopefully someone can help - and apologies, it's got a bit long. I've been commuting by bike (10km) all year for 16 years, no problem. But that's going up to 17km - and it might be a lot to ask to keep doing that everyday (I've had to do it a few times so far over the past year and it's really no fun in the wind; nice in the sun though). The extra 7km is flat, but exposed and usually into the wind on the way home; the other 10km (same as before) includes uphill sections up to 10% and 500m (ish).

I can get a Dawes ARC, Raleigh Stow-e-way or Raleigh Array straightforwardly on cycle to work - so my question is, are any of these going to be up to taking some of the effort out of the journey? Especially the return journey.

A secondary question - The ARC is the cheapest, I've had a Dawes Horizon to commute on for 14 years and it's been great. It also has disc brakes (I've been though a fair number of wheels - rims worn though), and I'll be able to keep a folder in my office (I'm used to a nice secure lockup; new place has reputation for bikes walking). But I'm not sure if a folder is a good choice for a journey like this - never had one (or an electric).

If those are not good options, are there any sensible alternatives? It doesn't have to be on cycle to work - but anything much over £1500 and annual bus passes will be cheaper for the time I'm likely to be working there. Range is not a problem - I can charge at work. (I've thought of converting the Dawes, but unless there are no realistic alternatives, I'd rather leave it alone).

Thanks!:)

Fingers

Esteemed Pedelecer
Feb 9, 2016