DIY build with DC Brushed Motor

Loker

Just Joined
Nov 19, 2017
Bellingham, WA
Hi all,

I’m studying electrical engineering at university and I’m working on putting together an electric bike for my senior project . I have an old brushed DC hub motor and three new rechargeable 12V lead-acid batteries that have a capacity of 15Ah each. I also have a bike frame that fits my hub motor and an ebike throttle I inherited from one of my dad’s old projects. I’ve looked extensively but I can’t find any specs on my motor online.

The thing I’m struggling with is I have no idea how to build a control unit between the batteries and the motor. I think a buck converter whose output voltage is somehow regulated by the position of the throttle might work but I have a strong feeling that there’s more to it than that.

Does anyone know of any resources detailing the typical circuitry between batteries and a brushed DC hub motor in the context of electric bikes?

Any and all replies are appreciated!

-Sean

D

Deleted member 4366

All you need is a basic PWM control. Any high speed microprocessor can do it. You use the MP to switch a transistor that switches a bank of MOSFETs. The power is controlled by the % of PWM (duty cycle).

Typicaly, you cut down the 36v to 12v with a 12v regulator to switch the MOSFETs, then cut down a branch of the 12v again to 5v to power any sensors (PAS, throtte, speed and brakes) and the MP.

The main battery wires go to the MOSFETs, which control how much gets through to the motor. You need sizeable capacitors across the battery wires to deal with the high frequency switching.

There's normally a current limit set by using a shunt in one of the battery lines (negative). The MP can read the voltage drop across it to make decisions about power.

You need to research a bit about PWM control of motors because you can get some strange effects from inductance and capacitance.

• Informative
Reactions: Wheel-E
D

Deleted member 4366