Do I need Full Sus on an electric fat bike?

Graham B

Pedelecer
Dec 16, 2016
Bath
I know this is an age old question, but thought I ask again as I'm new to this. I have found so helpful comments throughout the forum, but not too much on Fat Bikes.

I had a test ride on a Haibike Full fatsix today (going cheap in a sale) and loved it. My only problem was it had full suspension and felt a bit bouncy on the normal roads (even when on max restriction).

I was originally looking for a hardtail, and I felt the tyres would give enough cushion, and I could always add a suspension seat post if needed.

Any thoughts would be welcome.

Most of my off road riding will be country trails, woodland paths and fields I expect. Not too much tight or rocky downhill rough stuff I doubt. I do want to do as much in the snow as I can, but this is the UK after all.

Just comments on the suspension please, I've had plenty of chat already on pros and cons of fat bikes vs plus, Mid vs hub drive and the different motors.

Cheers

• Informative
Reactions: LeighPing

soundwave

Esteemed Pedelecer
May 23, 2015
if you can afford full sus then go for that as that is the one part you cant add to the bike you had a go on might not have had the right psi in it for ur waight tho you can add more with a shock pump to make it stiffer for the road max psi in the rear is 300psi fox.

with the haibike the sprockets will be expensive to replace when worn as there off set and around 90 quid and also the tyres tho you can get some deals on ebay.

Graham B

Pedelecer
Dec 16, 2016
Bath
The guy in the store did say upping the rear tyre pressure or the shock pressure would help. The 2017 bike has a full lock, but this was 2016.

I'm kinda prepared for the extra tyre costs being fat and wearing quicker on the road. Initial purchase won't be any more expensive (bike is reduced from £3500 down to £2600).