Ebike drive choice for commute and touring

Branko

Just Joined
Sep 13, 2017
Croatia
Hello,

I'm totally new to e-bikes. I've been looking at a steel frame touring ebike (from poison-bikes, a German company) with a Go SwissDrive rear hub direct drive motor, with 558 Wh battery.

I'm a reasonably fit recreational cyclist, weighing in at 75kg, and I've been looking at an ebike which would serve me for my purposes:
- Going to work periodically, on the days when the wife is inclined to take the kids to kindergarten, anyway. The distance is short, maybe two kilometers distance, tops, but with a long hill which varies between 6%-10% grade (and a very short 10 meter stretch of 14% climb), which gets me quite damn sweaty.
- Going to town periodically, which involves going up the same hill (mostly smooth sailing after that, with gentle slopes and descents afterwards) and is about 10-12km away.
- Periodical joyrides, around 40-50 km there and back.
- Doing a longer tour (cca 700 km total, there and back) on a bike twice per year.

Mostly, I want the assitance with the hill climbs. I don't mind pedalling on flat ground at all and am not looking to break speed records on the bike, but I hate getting to places all sweaty, it's the reason why I only use a normal bike for recreation.

I was thinking the regeneration capability of a direct drive would be useful on long descents which are plentiful around here, is it really?

Does this drive make it (much) harder to pedal with the assistance off at 20-25 km/hr? This is my big worry with the direct drive, because if it is so it would be quite unsuitable for very long rides where I cannot count on battery power - my thinking was to conserve battery on flats.

Do you know of any other steel frame (I don't want an aluminum frame) quality touring e-bikes out there?

There's a flood of hybrid and MTB aluminum frames with Bosch motors, but I don't want one of them.

Nealh

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 7, 2014
West Sx RH