Electric Bike for disabled man

trillian

Just Joined
Sep 5, 2016
Nottingham
Hello, I'm new to electric bikes and am looking for some advice. I have a chronic illness which has meant for most of the last 10 years I've been housebound but my health has improved a little and I'm looking for ways to get out more. Most people in my situation would get a scooter or electric wheelchair but I'm 30 year man and I would much rather be on a bike if possible particularly as on good days I can walk short distances, for example round a shop. I currently can't walk 1 km to the park or to the shops or a park, but with an electric bike I hope I could get there.

I have a friend who has a Gocycle which has transformed their life so I'm looking for something similar but half the price. I've also found lots of cycle paths/ routes almost from my house which I feel a lot happier about using than going on main roads.

I'm looking for:
- A bike which can be powered without cycling if I get tired.
-A bike which is a light as possible to that I can bring it in my house to store.
- A folding bike so that if I do go further a field but can't get back and need to get a taxi I can do.
- A bike I can easily lock up for an hour.
- A Bike with as comfortable ride as possible.
- A bike which needs as little maintenance as possible.

Range isn't an issue as it will mostly be used for 2-6miles round trips.

Price is somewhat flexible I'm really just interested in what's out there. I'm also happy to buy second hand.

Thankyou!

• Informative
Reactions: LeighPing

RobF

Esteemed Pedelecer
Sep 22, 2012
A bike with a full speed throttle is against current regulations, so that may limit your choice.

Legal ebike motors are not that powerful, even one with a full speed throttle may not get you up steep hills without some effort on your part.

A folding ebike may suit your purpose, but bear in mind the folded package is ungainly and still fairly heavy.