First conversion advice

fufkin

Finding my (electric) wheels
Sep 7, 2017
UK
Hi all,
I'm looking to add a conversion on a budget to a single speed bike, and from what I've seen so far, installation in the front wheel would probably suit me best.
The bike has 700c wheels.
I don't mind getting my hands dirty, so I am wondering if any of you experienced can give a total novice like me any advice?
Where is a good place to buy the kit?
Is it possible to buy second hand kit and the pro's and con's for doing so?
Anything else you can think of.
Sorry for being a bit general on the scope of the questions!!!

D

Deleted member 4366

A rear motor would be much better. Why do you want a front one?

Please give us more details about your proposed project so that we can put advice into some sort of context.

fufkin

Sep 7, 2017
UK
Hi d8veh,
I did apologise for the vagueness!!!
The reason I thought of going for the front wheel hub is that I though the installation would be simpler. Having a rear wheel conversion just seemed a little more complicated to me.
I want to use the bike for commuting to and from work several days a week.
The trip is roughly 14 miles each way, but I can charge the battery at work as well as at home.
There are 2 hills that are a bit of a nightmare on the single speed, so the main reason is to help me up them.
The bike is Specialized Globe Roll 2, link below.
https://www.sigmasport.co.uk/item/Specialized/Globe-Roll-2-Bicycle-2012/5B8

D

Deleted member 4366