First ebike advice

Loai

Just Joined
Jan 24, 2017
Nottingham
Hi all,

This will be my first ebike and I am very excited. I have read few forum and I think I should try few first before making my mind.

I am 176 cm long and weigh 75 kg. I will be using the bike mainly to commute to work 1.5 miles away.

My budget is up to 1k pounds. I am new to Nottingham. Do you know where I should go for test ride? and which ebike should be included in my search?

Thank you.

Loai

Danidl

Esteemed Pedelecer
Sep 29, 2016
Ireland
Hi all,

This will be my first ebike and I am very excited. I have read few forum and I think I should try few first before making my mind.

I am 176 cm long and weigh 75 kg. I will be using the bike mainly to commute to work 1.5 miles away.

My budget is up to 1k pounds. I am new to Nottingham. Do you know where I should go for test ride? and which ebike should be included in my search?

Thank you.

Loai
Walking pace is 4 miles per hour for the first hour, idling on a bike is 10 miles per hour and 15 miles per hour on a ebike.
1.5 miles can be walking distance and will take around 25 minutes by a reasonable fit not athletic person.
On a standard push bike , one would be hard to take longer than 8 to 10 minutes and one would not even have the time to raise a sweat. On an electric bike it will take about 5 to 8 minutes .
Unless you have some disability, it seems difficult to justify an electric bike. The unlocking and locking, parking becomes a significant part of the total journey time.
The value of an electric bike would be felt on longer commutes eg 3 to 5 miles.
However your money your call.

Reactions: EddiePJ

Loai

Just Joined
Jan 24, 2017
Nottingham
Walking pace is 4 miles per hour for the first hour, idling on a bike is 10 miles per hour and 15 miles per hour on a ebike.
1.5 miles can be walking distance and will take around 25 minutes by a reasonable fit not athletic person.