Have I bought a Lemon?

JeremyColley

Finding my (electric) wheels
Nov 6, 2018
Hi all - first of all, thanks for letting me join the forum - as a newbie I'm looking forward to getting my e-bike up and running and perhaps on the way, some improvements.

This is a shameless cry for help. I've just bought a Freego Hawk from Halfords, who were having a clear out of their workshop. This was the most complete of a number of e-bikes they were selling (Carrera, Pendleton etc.), all were missing parts, but the Hawk looks fine. This probably sounds suspect, but I assure you it is not stolen and I have a receipt! I paid £125 for it and there's no key, no charger and it's as dead as a proverbial. There's no history with the bike, so it was either left there my a member of staff, brought in for repair and never collected or used as a loan cycle (unlikley)

Where do I start? I assume the battery is no longer any good - it's clearly been sitting in their warehouse for some time, judging by the amount of dust and dirt on it. I can by a new lock but I'm not sure how to get the old one out of the battery without breaking something. Lastly, should I buy a charger first? Or by a new battery with charger and keys from (where? eBay) - can I just put a generic battery in it? It has a 36v 10.4ah Samsung fitted and the number on the case is FRSHYSBSXSMO52 (is this the serial no of the ebike or the battery?)

Sorry about the long post

Jeremy (Norwich)

Benjahmin

Esteemed Pedelecer
Nov 10, 2014
West Wales
For the battery lock, try a locksmith or drill out the barrel yourself, that's probably what the smith would do. Then you'll need a digital volt meter and a camera for 'photo's. Then come back and start firing questions.
The motors are pretty bombproof, so worst case scenario is new battery plus new controller maybe some wiring to trace. Do not declare lemon status yet!

KirstinS

Esteemed Pedelecer
Apr 5, 2011
Brighton
Woah! One step at a time