Hello from Frinton-On Sea

stevec59

Finding my (electric) wheels
Dec 6, 2017
CO13 Essex
Hi Guys,
I've been cycling for many years, started off cycling to school, then paper rounds then a friend got me interested in Cycling for pleasure, I had a light weight hand built racer, we covered quite a few miles together, then cycling 20 to work and then back again most days.
Now I'm 58, I have a Gary Fisher bike, I still enjoy cycling but only in good weather and no where near as far, I think 10 miles max, so I'm thinking about buying a electric bike, I just think I can go further, thing is they are quite expensive, I've been looking at the second hand ones and I'll keep my eye out for something local. I've looked at some new bikes, they look great, but a spare battery is @ £250, that seems crazy to me!
What do people think about cheap batteries on places like ebay?

Reactions: John Vjorn

Gaz

Esteemed Pedelecer
Sep 14, 2016
Eastbourne
Hello Steve :)

If you're buying new, I wouldn't worry too much about a spare battery. Unless of course you need it for long distance. I get about 40 miles between charges, and I could get more if I tried harder.

Second hand and it's probably pragmatic to expect battery replacement to be looming. You can mitigate the cost, and often improve a battery by having it re-celled instead. Caveat emptor on the cheap ones - if it looks to good to be true.....

Happy bike hunting.

Gaz

• Agree
Reactions: 1 person

Nealh

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 7, 2014
West Sx RH
£250 for a new battery is quite reasonable.
Wen you factor in that cells generally cost between £2 - £6
each and batteries will have 40 or 50 individual cells inside, then add in the other incidentals that are in there and the case and often a new docking /receiver unit as well.

• :D

Benjahmin

Esteemed Pedelecer
Nov 10, 2014
West Wales
Hi Steve,