Help me choose a bike for my commute

teapotHandle

Just Joined
May 4, 2017
Edinburgh
Hello,

I am a newbie, considering commuting to work by bike - about 8 miles each way, urban and quite hilly (that's Edinburgh for you!). I'm female, 5'7" and of average build.

I am having problems deciding what bikes to consider - I am told a crank motor is better, but I'd love to hear suggestions. My priority would be reliability and simplicity of maintenance, and a battery that makes it there and back!

I'd consider second hand, or ex-demo, but that is even more confusing to me!

So - wise and experienced people, what advice would you give me?

thanks all!

Last edited:
  • Informative
Reactions: LeighPing
D

Deleted member 4366

if you don't know much about bikes, you're more or less stuck with buying one from a local dealer, so best to go and see what they have.

This business of crank-drives vs hub-motors is a nasty business. It's almost impossible to get sensible unbiased opinions, because everybody sees it from their own frame of reference instead of being empathetic. As an all-round cyclist and experienced cycling commuter. I can say that there's no doubt in my mind that hub-motors are better for commuting, shopping, etc; however, you need to choose the right one because some are more suitable for hills than others, and it's never clear which are which.

If we stick with hub-motors, even the crappy ones can climb pretty well when they're in small-wheeled bikes (typically folding bikes). In bigger wheeled bikes, you need to try one to see if it has enough torque. When you test a bike, always test it on a hill. that's what sorts them out. they're all different.

There's hundreds ofm bikes to choose from, but you can narrow it down a lot by telling us what's in your local shops.

teapotHandle

Just Joined
May 4, 2017
Edinburgh