Hi from County Durham

CaptainCrash71

Pedelecer
Mar 3, 2018
County Durham
Hi, just trying to get into e-bikes on a budget. I'm a 46 year old paramedic, who really needs to lose some weight and get fit(ter).
I've got a really nice Giant terrago mountain bike, which I've had for a few years but have barely ridden it. We moved house shortly after buying it, and it's very hilly where we live, so riding stopped being fun. I've slowly got more and more un-fit, to the point now I daren't get my bike out.
I've just changed job location and will be working about 6-7 miles away from home. So, now's a good time for me to use my bike for work.
I've had a test ride on a mid-drive kalkhoff bike at my local shop, but at £1700 it's worth more than my car
I've decided to build my own battery, using Panasonic 30Q cells, 36v 12ah. I don't need mega long distance, no more than 20 miles, so this should be big enough.
I'm favouring a mid-drive at the moment due to a couple of long hills on the way to work, but if someone wants to persuade me otherwise to an alternative, I'm all ears.

Reactions: LeighPing

Benjahmin

Esteemed Pedelecer
Nov 10, 2014
West Wales
Hi Crash,
Conversion will certainly get you out in hills, it's exactly why I did it.

I would consider a hub drive for commuting (either front or rear) because they are pretty bombproof, wear the drive train less, and have a more just let it do it's thaing style of usage. All you have to do is be in the right gear for yourself(as opposed to the motor) ride and enjoy the scenery. There is little or no maintenance on a hub motor, if they are fitted correctly, and you'll get all the help you need here.
There will be others along to say exactly the opposite!