hub motor running but no wheel motion on FreeGo Hawk Electric Bikes

lulup

Pedelecer
Sep 20, 2017
london
Hi,
All was well til this morning when the motor would run but 'empty', not creating any motion.
there was a bit of a pull (in the morning first thing) for 2 min and it felt as if it had disconnected from the wheel.
Another thing I noticed is that when rolling the bike backward, something seems to hold onto the wheel (from inside the hub) although it is not stuck.

I am no bike mechanic but i can get things running usually with advice, thinking and careful handling.
I have an understanding of how a motor works but I couldn't yet find what type I have in the freego.

Anyone has some clues to help me fix this please?

Thanks in advance.

Last edited:

Woosh

Trade Member
May 19, 2012
Southend on Sea
wooshbikes.co.uk
hi kulup,

there are two possibilities: a) the clutch has failed or b) one of the Hall sensors stops working causing the motor to spin in reverse, thus not engaging the wheel.
You need to eliminate a) first. Lift up the motor wheel, spin it in reverse to engage the clutch. If you feel the resistance of the clutch and rotor then it's b).

• Agree
Reactions: Wisper Bikes

lulup

Pedelecer
Sep 20, 2017
london
despite using various search engines, i could not find out what motor is in a freego hawk ebike. and therefore no info on how to handle them. If anyone has a lead or link, please share.

Woosh

Trade Member
May 19, 2012
Southend on Sea
wooshbikes.co.uk
your motor spins in reverse.
Is it still under warranty?

D

Deleted member 4366

All hub-motors work the same, so it doesn't matter which one you have. I can't understand anything you wrote because it's in some sort of code. If you're saying that the motor is spinning with power, but not driving the wheel, your clutch is stuck - most likely because the motor has/had water in it, which made it go rusty, in which case you have to open the motor and replace the clutch assembly.

• Agree