Im torn between two...

Didds

Finding my (electric) wheels
Sep 24, 2017
Somerset
combewoodcomputers.co.uk
Hi guys,

I am a newbie the electric bikes and cant wait to get on the road.

Being a man of let's say stocky build! and 6ft tall and living in a hilly area in south Somerset I am not sure what bike to get.

The Oxygen S-cross Mtb and the Woosh big bear.

I really like the looks of the Oxygen but it has to be practical and work for me too. It is quite hilly around here and I am not that fit so would like all the help with the hills that I can get.

I will be travelling to peoples houses within a 10 mile radius for work on it.

The oxygen is around £500 more than the bear and I read that it can be unrestricted for some off road fun.

I would be greatfull of any help you can offer on this. I have just sold my old van today with the plan on replacing it with an electric bike :)

Thanks Didds

John_S

Pedelecer
Jul 27, 2013
The speed limiter can be turned off on the Woosh Big Bear very easily on the LCD. Its a 30 second job or less.
Between the two bikes, the Big Bear is probably the better hill climber. It has a very powerful high-torque BPM motor alongside a 20a controller and 15ah battery. As I mentioned in a different thread, the climbing ability of the Big Bear is as good as you can find among legal hub drive bikes.
On the Oxygen site, it isn't clear which motor the Oxygen bike specifically has. It just says it is a high-torque 8-fun motor. I've heard that the controller on the Oxygen is only 16 amps. It is likely therefore that the Oxygen bike has significantly poorer climbing ability than the Big Bear.
The Oxygen probably has the higher unrestricted top speed along the flat of the two bikes. I'd also have to say that I like the appearance of the Oxygen a lot. It is a very trendy and neat looking bike. It is also only 22kg in weight, whereas the Big Bear is 26kg.
As you say, the Big Bear is £500 cheaper than the Oxygen.