Looking for a reliable mid range eBike

Laurie

Just Joined
Jul 6, 2017
Monmouthshire
Hi all. I am new to eBikes but have test driven several and examined a few others recently. I used to enjoy cycling quite a few years ago, but at 64 yrs old, now feel an eBike might be good for exploring the countryside.
I have been recommended to go for a Bosch crank drive, and quite like the Moustache Samedi 28 which comes complete with rear rack and mudguards. However another dealer is trying to discourage me saying that most bikes are made in China, and recommending a KTM Venturer, although this has Shimano Steps motor, which has fewer modes, and the bike is quite stripped down, with no mudguards, rack etc.
I am looking to spend between £1500 and £1900 but need something reliable and with quality components and frame. Any recommendations please?
Laurie

soundwave

Esteemed Pedelecer
May 23, 2015
dealer is talking out of there rear hole my bosch motor is 3 years old and have a dongle on it to remove the speed limit from day one ;)

bosch motors are made in Germany and the only motor id steer clear of is the impulse motor.

Gaz

Esteemed Pedelecer
Sep 14, 2016
Eastbourne
Nothing wrong with the Shimano STEPS in my experience.

Have you looked at the Wisper 905 Torque? Hard to beat if you're not planning on riding up mountains.

Gaz

Reactions: Wisper Bikes

Peter Thornton

Pedelecer
Apr 15, 2017
Kendal
Your dealer is right ( is he in Cumbria by any chance?) in that the bikes are usually made in China, but as far as I know the Bosch power units are made in Germany.

Danidl

Esteemed Pedelecer
Sep 29, 2016
Ireland
Hi all. I am new to eBikes but have test driven several and examined a few others recently. I used to enjoy cycling quite a few years ago, but at 64 yrs old, now feel an eBike might be good for exploring the countryside.