Biggles

Pedelecer
Jul 10, 2012

Emo Rider

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jan 10, 2014
Hello

I have one of these:-

http://www.proriderleisure.com/leisure/electric-bikes/e-wayfarer-electric-folding-bike-silver.html

http://www.proriderleisure.com/leisure/electric-bikes/e-wayfarer-electric-folding-bike-silver.html

I have noticed of late that the motor is beginning to get noisy. It sounds kinda like the motor is straining, or a sort of dry gearbox noise. I haven't noticed any dorp of of power or performance.

Any suggestions?

Thanks
The motor may have to be disassembled and the planetary gears replaced. Should take 30 to 45 minutes to do if there are no complications.

Biggles

Pedelecer
Jul 10, 2012
Ah, so it was a gear noise. Is this a job I can do or will it need to go away. I am an engineer, well welder. Where would I get the parts to DIY, or where can I send it. Whats the likely cost either way.

Thanks

Biggles

Pedelecer
Jul 10, 2012
Hello

I went to use it today after about 3 weeks of not using in. I got no drive what so ever even thought he motor was running. So clearly something has gone wrong. Last time I used it it was fine.

Thinking about things more now when its been left for any amount of time the back wheel has always been ceased, requiring a fair bit of force to get to rolling

Emo Rider

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jan 10, 2014
Hello

I went to use it today after about 3 weeks of not using in. I got no drive what so ever even thought he motor was running. So clearly something has gone wrong. Last time I used it it was fine.

Thinking about things more now when its been left for any amount of time the back wheel has always been ceased, requiring a fair bit of force to get to rolling
It sounds for sure that it your planetary gears. You should be able to get a replacement assembly from amazon or ebay. Just make sure you get the type of motor from your bike correct when searching. Any ebike shop should be able to do it for you. Where are you located?

Biggles

Pedelecer