Need help selecting ebike

Andy88

Esteemed Pedelecer
Nov 6, 2016
Ayrshire
Hi, I am Andy, relocating to Ayreshire am 5'10" 130kg not too fit but can pedal a bit I hope.

I have been riding a 100cc moped for the last ten years but now want to move across to an ebike.

-Maximum budget £1450
-Not sure crank or hub drive?
-Prefer non derailier gears I think but would like simplicity.
-Would like to be able to ride without pedaling but not sure if new legislation Jan 2016 prohibits that?

Will be used mainly for short shopping trips no more than 8miles there and back, no steep hills.

Please suggest make models and cost also the cost of replacement battery.

Andrew

trex

Esteemed Pedelecer
May 15, 2011
I suggest you look at the woosh Big Bear. It has a large Bafang BPM motor, 15AH battery, Avid disc brakes, 180mm rotor in the front, nice crankset, soft grips, full thumb throttle, suspension seat post, rack, mudguards, lights and bell.
Replacement 15AH battery: £345.

http://wooshbikes.co.uk/?bigbear

Andy88

Esteemed Pedelecer
Nov 6, 2016
Ayrshire
Thanks, are there any dealers in Scotland?

How do I stand with the throttle with the new law?

RobF

Esteemed Pedelecer
Sep 22, 2012
Andy,

You are new here, but bear (ho-ho) in mind trex is a sales agent for woosh - see his (enforced) signature

Nothing wrong with a Big Bear, but it's a basic Chinese bike which you may, or may not, be happy with.

You mention carrying shopping, the Big Bear has a rack battery - more weight on the back and it's harder to fit panniers.

In that respect, a bike with a down tube mounted battery would be better.

Eight miles in flattish terrain with a bit of shopping is not hard use for an ebike, so almost any will do the job.

If you wanted a slightly nicer bike than a woosh, have a look at Oxygen.

A few quid under budget, pokey motor, carrier, and stealth down tube battery.

http://www.oxygenbicycles.com/e-bikes/s-cross-cb

Reactions: Warwick

Warwick

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jun 24, 2015
Warwick