New to ebike - help please

Kuhneye

Pedelecer
Jun 20, 2017
London
Hi there everyone!

I bought a ex demo ebike couple of months back: Winora Radius plain, 20" wheels (scwalbe big Ben 55mm/2.15 inches) crotched rims, Tektro Auriga hydraulic brakes 160mm, SRAM i3 hub gears 32 holes, Yamaha PW motor, 400Wh battery. 52 tooth front, 15 tooth back.

1st gear broke 2nd day I had it, less than 20 miles I rode it.

A week later 2nd gear broke after total of less than 100 miles.

I ended up using it as a "fixie" for a few more days, maybe another 100 miles before that gear broke too?

Left me very angry as I used the bike for work as I deliver food for a living. I went back to my non electric hybrid.

I've more or less decided to buy a Shimano Alfine 8 hub gear, 32h, and rapid fire shifter. Hopefully I can get a LBS to salvage as much as possible if original wheel and build it in and install shifter.

What do you think?

Is this a good choice?

Should I keep the front at 52 tooth and rear at 15 or change to different size? (I'm looking for durability, reliability and ability to zip around all of London in all weather)

Is there anything I've not thought of? Anything that you could point out would be helpful and appreciated?

Thanks in advance,
Kuhneye

Kuhneye

Pedelecer
Jun 20, 2017
London
I think so.

I heard a loud crack when 3rd gear went. I could not pedal after that. I checked that the cable was attached too to the hub and checked the tension. I took the wheel off and then I could pedal the crank. Put wheel back on and it would not pedal in any gear. Frozen solid.

TBH I'm still a little worried about the motor, though think I'm being a little paranoid.

Nealh

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 7, 2014
West Sx RH
If it's ex demo from a dealer then it will be under warranty, two months isn't long so take it back for them to repair,

• Useful
  • Agree
Reactions: LeighPing and Gaz

Kuhneye

Pedelecer
Jun 20, 2017
London