Newbie...KTM macina tour 10 P5 2016...views?

Pusscat

Just Joined
Aug 13, 2016
Devon
Hi all,

A total e-bike newbie here so please excuse any of my ignorances!

Wanting a couple of e-bikes for holiday jaunts with the motor-home and rides out at the week-end to start getting a little fitter. We'd be using them on roads, lanes and tracks (bridleways, old railway lines such as the Tarka trail etc) but not so much of the racing through mountainous trails!

I've taken a liking to the KTM macina tour 10 P5 2016 and was wanting to know of anyone's experience with this bike. I suppose it's a hybrid and I'd like to know if the tyres it comes with (Schwalbe Energizer Plus Tyres? ) will be robust enough for say foot paths through forests (not 'off-road' though) as well as towpaths, gravel paths and the like?

How do you know which frame size to get? What are the advantages / disadvantages of a cross bar or comfort cross bar frame? (2 men here..) I've looked at a few charts and they appear to suggest different sizes for different types of bike but they didn't have e-bike on the KTM chart as far as I could see. I'm 6 foot about 76 kg, the other half is about 6 foot with a bit more weight say 100kg?

Also, the lights supplied (B+M Lumotek Eyk IQ, 50 Lux, 6VDC, TF), will these be bright enough for travelling along unlit lanes?

It's a bit of a voyage of discovery so far...any input or advice most welcome!

Highside43

Pedelecer
Jul 26, 2016
Aberdovey
www.cubeengineering.co.uk
Welcome.

I'm a newbie also and clueless when it comes to advice / technical - hence why I haunt these corridors. I'm sure someone else will be along answering your questions but my advice on the lights, there are some good 4 or 5 cree bulb ones on flea bay (I have two) which work for me, but there has also been a light topic recently which lists others.

Happy riding.

D8ve

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jan 30, 2013
Bristol