Riding in the Rain

adrianJB

Finding my (electric) wheels
Sep 30, 2012
Are there things to be aware of about riding electric bikes in the rain? Should I be aware of precautions to take and actions after a wet ride? I am totally new to this so apologies if this is covered, but can't find a thread.

D

Deleted member 4366

Some bikes are more waterproof than others. Showers are OK, but torrential ranr can be a problem. As long as it's not too windyyou can use a cape to keep both yourself and the bike dry - about £10 in Wilinsons.

Areas to be careful:
Battery connections
Charger socket
Throttle
LCD displays

• Informative
Reactions: LeighPing

adrianJB

Sep 30, 2012
Thanks, d8veh. That's very useful and concurs with advice from more realistic dealers I have come across.

DJH

Pedelecer
Nov 8, 2011
North Yorkshire
I concur with d8veh regarding the cape, however I stopped using mine, mainly I suppose because nobody else wears them nowadays. 10 days ago I got caught out in heavy snow, sleet and rain and had 8miles to cycle back. It really was torrential and I half expected the electrics to pack up but they didn't, my feet got wet but that was all. The bike was then wiped down and stored in the garage for a couple of days. Next time I used it the electrics were all over the place but after much use of a hair dryer everything has settled down. Part of my problem is probably a crack in the plastic on the display on the handlebar so now I've put a small plastic bag over it and fixed it with an elastic band so that I can still see the info. I've also put a smaller bag on the power selector buttons and so far I've not had any more problems although I've only been out in drizzle. I really need to replace the King-Meter display but for the time being a plastic bag is cheaper!

adrianJB

Sep 30, 2012
Thanks DJH. That's encouraging and realistic. As I have a good supply of plastic bags, and won't be seeking out rainy weather the replies above lessen any worries.

103Alex1