Rookie error? Decreased front sprocket

Jerrymond

Pedelecer
Jul 10, 2017
Huddersfield
I may have committed a schoolboy error. I took my chain off to clean the other night and decided to clean my front sprocket/chainring area with a spray degreaser. Didn't put any lube on should I have? What problems could the degreaser have caused and how do i fix them? On my ride today didn't feel as smooth as usual though I might be imagining it. Any help would be much appreciated thanks.

Last edited:

Ballynoes

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jul 13, 2017
Perthshire Scotland
Hi Jerrymond,

I am no Ebike mechanic although I did do a course on bike maintenance so happy to maintain my own bike.

I washed my Cube the other day with the Bosch motor.

Like you I took the chain off to clean as much as I could as I didn’t want to go too daft with the degreaser around the motor area, so I just took it easy around the motor.

If you were over keen with the degreaser around the front sprocket, you may have cleaned some of the lubrication from the bearings behind it.

However you said you didn’t put lube on the chain. So I am assuming you cleaned and de-greased that also. I would lubricate the chain as normal; some of this will lube the sprocket as well. Then see how it feels.

It should make quite a difference.

If it is still rough, I would thing about investigating the crank bearing on the sprocket side, but you might need to take it apart… or to a bike shop.

I always re-lube my chain after cleaning the bike.

For the same reason you said, I have now bought the lock tool to remove the front sprocket, so I can clean it AWAY from the bike, that way I don’t risk spraying anything too near the motor.

Don’t panic till you lubricate the chain and give it a few turns, you will be surprised how much difference that makes.

Jerrymond

Pedelecer
Jul 10, 2017
Huddersfield