Self building of ebikes.

bassace2006

Finding my (electric) wheels
Jan 15, 2011
Hi everyone, I am interested in building my own ebike from scratch sometime in the future, but know very little about it. I have seen various books about Electric bicycles on Amazon.co.uk but I would rather get one that is recommended to me by someone who knows what they are talking about, that is where you Pedelec forum members come in,:) . Any suggestions anyone?
I used to be an electronics service engineer, (TVs, Videos, Electron microscopes etc), so it can be a bit of a techy book if you like.
I look forward to hearing from you.
Thanks in anticipation,
Derek.

aaannndddyyy

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jun 7, 2007
Norwich Norfolk
I am interested in building my own ebike from scratch. I have seen various books about Electric bicycles on Amazon.co.uk but I would rather get one that is recommended to me by someone who knows what they are talking about.
Thanks in anticipation,
Derek.
The internet is my interactive book of choice.
I have been building electric bikes for over 4 years, every one is different depending on how I intend using them, from 15mph dahon folders to 50 mph full Sus DH offroaders and every thing in between.
You need to decide what sort of electric bike you what, there are 1000s of option and decisions to make, like what do you intend using it for, how far do you what to go, how fast do you what to get there, is there a weight limit what style bike, what sort of motor, what terrain, how much money to spend, etc etc.

Last edited:

fishingpaul

Esteemed Pedelecer
Sep 24, 2007
Hi everyone, I am interested in building my own ebike from scratch sometime in the future, but know very little about it. I have seen various books about Electric bicycles on Amazon.co.uk but I would rather get one that is recommended to me by someone who knows what they are talking about, that is where you Pedelec forum members come in,:) . Any suggestions anyone?