Shimano Nexus7 vs 8 speed

echowind

Pedelecer
Feb 21, 2008
I have owned both the 7 speed and the premium 8 hub geared version. Can only one gear make so much difference? Let me tell you without doubt yes. The 7 speed has no direct drive and has a woolly stirring treacle feel about it, its also heavier with a much smaller gear range than the 8 speed version. Even the Sram 5 speed has a wider range. the 8 speed has better water resistance and roller bearings, direct drive is gear 5. I may be wrong but I thought Shimano discontinued the 7 speed a few years ago. I hope kalkhoff have specified the premium version for the pro_connect. you can tell the difference visually by a red line running around the hub. to make things more complicated theres now the Alfine disc brake version but I have no experience of this. I understand that gears are less important in regards to an electric bicycle, but anyway I would expect the better hub gears on bikes that cost so much..Halfords put the premium version on their carrera costing only £279 {discounted} and that was including the roller brakes.

flecc

Oct 25, 2006
There's seven speed and seven speed though, Shimano having changed the design some while ago and currently having two versions. There isn't the big difference you describe in between the current Nexus on the Agattu and the newer eight speed that's been chosen for the Pro-Connect. In fact the closeness of the eighth ratio to the seventh on the current eight has been criticised by some who've ridden it.

Shimano have never discontinued a seven , the four speed Nexus was the only one abandoned in recent years after a number of failures and much criticism of it having less range (184%) than the three speed.