Tempted to DIY

Andy Bluenoes

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 31, 2016
uk
Ive been e-biking for about 10 months now, and gone through 3 bikes. Anyone who has read some of my posts will see that its not quite been plain sailing.

Anyway, after learning quite a bit about how they work, and now I know a bit clearer what I need from the bike, I am thinking about building my own in a couple of months time.

Main things I need from the bike:
Range of 25 miles
Be able to do a steady 20mph with pedal assist. I would like to do the 20 mile trip to work in an hour and not be soaked in sweat when I get there.
Not be replacing parts every 2 months, or the electrics failing.

I will be doing around 120 miles a week, not sure of the exact route yet, as it will coincide with a house move.
My current bike is the cyclotricity stealth 1000watt with a 12ah battery.
I can comfortably do a 15 mile run to work with power set on legal mode, using the highest assist level, and it takes around 50 minutes. Thats over roads, cycle paths, and some pretty horrendous muddy towpaths.

If money was no object, I think given the mileage I do, something like a R&M cruiser would be perfect, but thats way too much at the moment.

So, my idea is to buy the most suitable bike using the C2W scheme up to £1000 that can be converted using something like the BBS02. I watched a video of how to install that, and Im pretty sure I could manage it.
There are different power levels available, not sure which one would do the job I need. And have no idea about what bike to use for the conversion.

If I did it this way, my hope is to get a quality bike that will easily meet my needs, and most of all, stand up to the mileage and potentially hard life it may have.

Good idea or not?

• Informative
Reactions: LeighPing

Martyn979

Finding my (electric) wheels
Feb 3, 2017
Liverpool