Torq wheel removal for tyre change

coops

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jan 18, 2007
Manchester U.K.
I followed the very useful instructions for Torq front tyre change & its now done :).

When replacing the front wheel a the end, I realised I hadn't noted where the (looks like) washer & spacer go on the left, non-wired side of the axle (sorry if it seems trivial, but I'm a bit of a novice with these things :eek: and wouldn't want to put it back incorrectly): I have 2 - a small metal washer-like ring ~1mm thick with a radial "slit" & not quite flat, plus a brassy 3mm thick spacer-like ring. The forks don't seem to require a spacer inside the dropout between them & the nut on the motor, but I also seem to recall that the thicker brassy ring was inside the thinner metal washer and can't see why the two should be outside the fork dropout, between fork & outer wheel nut??

Please can anyone advise where they go?!

At least everything else went ok & motor still works :D.

Stuart.

flecc

Oct 25, 2006
These motors have varied slightly during the model's life Stuart, but it sounds like both washers should be outside. The plain thick washer goes against the fork, then the split washer which is called a spring washer goes on and then the nut. The function of the spring washer is to stop the wheel nut turning back and coming off, since it tends to dig in it's sharp ends at the split if the wheel nut tries to turn in the unscrewing direction.

There's more complete removal instructions on my Torq Talk site which include the reminder to note the order of washers etc. Here's the link.

Last edited:

coops

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jan 18, 2007
Manchester U.K.
Thanks flecc, thats the order I put them and it seems the only logical way, but I may double-check with Jim if I speak to him :) I wish I'd noted properly the order when undoing them :rolleyes: but don't see any other way they could have been :).