torque arm for bsob750w motor

willcee

Pedelecer
Jan 23, 2018
ulster
With this in a good alloy hybrid Merckx frameset and having cycled approx 170 miles i am finding that despite my endeavours , I am a cycle mechanic, the motor is becoming loose and twisting downwards.. I realise that the 160n/m torque has a bearing and ime the std fitment set up isn't up to holding that sort of power for very long nor do I want it chafing up a tidy frame..I've seen a couple of endeavours to combat the twist but heath robinson and obtrusive would be a decent description.. subtle would be my way.... any one any answers?? will

Fordulike

Esteemed Pedelecer
Feb 26, 2010
Firstly, have you installed the bottom bracket motor mounting plate, with the knurled side facing inwards? This will ensure the plate bites into the bottom bracket, to help prevent torque from twisting the motor.

Secondly, make sure you use the proper tool to tighten the inner nut and locking collar tight, and I mean really really tight. Until your hand bleeds...... Ok, maybe not that tight lol.

• Agree
Reactions: tommie

tommie

Esteemed Pedelecer
Mar 13, 2013
Co. Down, N. Ireland, U.K.
Will, i`ve two bikes with the BBS02/HD conversions, you really have you tighten that inner nut with an awful degree of ignorance!
Whatever you`re using get a length of pipe and stand on it, don`t worry it won`t strip the threads.
this is what i done here, no motor movement on both bikes..

P1000758.JPG

willcee

Pedelecer
Jan 23, 2018
ulster
thanks,i've likely built more bikes than most of the people who contribute here so when i say its tightened and with the plate correctly orientated rest assured its so.. The pic which peter c above sent looks proper and it would certainly contain any inappropriate movement....i have one on order.. will

willcee

Pedelecer
Jan 23, 2018
ulster