Volt Pulse X

Covkid

Finding my (electric) wheels
Feb 14, 2018
Coventry
Hi all, I write this acknowledging that I am new to ebikes and have no other experience other than testing a Halfords ebike and a Gtech ebike before making my purchase.
I had been eyeing up the Volts in my local trusted bike shop (Jardines in Coventry) for about 3 years and after going on a near disastrous cycling holiday in Europe where an ebike would have made it a pleasure instead of an endurance test, I decided to take the plunge. I read on this forum comments about Volt bikes being just Chinese bikes, and or being overpriced, so I have held back commenting as I am completely satisfied, in fact delighted with mine.

I find the bike to be solid as in built like a tank. It has fabulous brakes, gears, and the larger battery for extra distance although I barely tax it with my 20 miles per day commuting. It has hard wired lights controlled from the display buttons. It has 1 to 4 on the power modes plus an A setting which is what I use each day on my ride to work and home again. In A it pushes me up to the maxed out assistance level very quickly and I seem to spend most of my time when on the flats or down hills pedaling over the cut off speed and under my own steam. The bike came with mudguards and a rack. Its hub powered and I find it really easy to use. I haven't changed the seat or pedals as I read others do on other bikes because to me they seem more than up to the job for a rider of my very average standard.

I have had one problem on a ride to work one day the bike kept wanting to run away with itself even whilst walking and pushing it. I called Jardines who helped me diagnose I may have not quite engaged a gear correctly and the bike kept trying to kick in with the assistance. Jardines phoned me back a couple of times over the next few days and asked if it was ok which I reported it was.