What is the best budget electric bike?

Chrisc

Pedelecer
May 27, 2010
sl4 4nq
hi all

i am a newbie and i need some advice.

i used to do alot of cycling but due to ill health i am now finding it hard to start up again. i need to lose some weight and a friend of mine suggested an electric bike.

i have been looking at reviews and reading threads on this forum and i am a bit confused as what bike to get.

i live on the top of a hill so it is great going down but not so good coming back. i have chest related problems so normally i just get of my bike and walk the rest of the way. which takes longer.

what i am looking for is something which will help me get up the hills and also if i get to the last 2-3 miles that the bike could take over and get me home.

my budget is £300-£500. the cheaper the better.
it needs to be able to help me up hills and have a range of at least 25 miles.

i have seen the meerkat e motion which is in argos/tesco and the izip ezgo. i found both for about £300. but there are mixed reviews on both. i have also looked at the conversion kits but it seams to be more money than buying the pre-made ones.

if any body has any other suggestions then that would be great.

thanks

Chrisc :) :eek: :cool:

C

Cyclezee

Hi Chrisc,

Firstly, I very much doubt if you will find a new bike to meet your criteria. That leaves used bikes which is where a lot of people start.

My advice is to learn as much as possible from this forum, see if you can get some test rides local to you.

You may be able to find a member near to you by looking here Pedelecs.co.uk - Members' Locations - Google Maps

then make contact and ask if you can view or even have a ride.

Good luck,

J:) hn

Chrisc

Pedelecer
May 27, 2010
sl4 4nq
Hi Chrisc,

Firstly, I very much doubt if you will find a new bike to meet your criteria. That leaves used bikes which is where a lot of people start.