Whyte Coniston (2016 model)

Gaz

Esteemed Pedelecer
Sep 14, 2016
Eastbourne
So I've had it a couple of month now, and am 400 miles in, with lights and mudguards added, so I reckon I can do a what's-it-like-to-live-with review.

Before I start, a bit about me, because I think a bit of perspective helps. I've been cycling since I was four years old, and have been cycling for 48 years. I'm not prepared to let on how old I am;). I'm what I'd call ergonomically incorrect; 6'4" with a disability that looks a bit like cerebal palsy, but isn't (I actually had a small stroke, either as I was being born, or shortly after). I have very little use of my right arm, my right leg is shorter than my left, with noticeable difference in muscle mass and I walk on my right toe, with my leg rotated in by almost 90 degrees. The point in saying this is there's very little that usually fits, or is comfortable off the bat, so I'm used to making do and adapting.

I'm not going to say anything technical about the Whyte Coniston as 1) I'm not technical, and 2) it's all readily available on the interwebnet if you're that way inclined.

In my exhaustive research of all things e-bikery, I'd never heard of, or come across a Coniston (so much for my usual level of homework!). But one popped up on eBay, and it was only 30 miles away, so I thought, in for a penny... and went to see it. It was only a few weeks old and was within my budget. I liked the look of it, took it out for a short ride, and was truly delighted with how comfortable and well behaved it was. I hadn't taken any money with me (on purpose) but by the time I got back, I knew it was the right bike for me. It's in fact the nicest bike I've ridden in over 20 years, full stop.

I have the large framed model (suits my 36" inside leg). I commute four miles to work on it, all tarmac and a fair chunk of cycle path. Weekends I venture further, and the longest ride so far has been 24 miles.