£270 Bike

lemmy

Esteemed Pedelecer
I went shopping in Calais yesterday and came across this in the Carrefour supermarket at Cite Europ. (See Here)

I'm no expert and I'm sure everybody will rubbish it but as you can see many of the parts are Shimano. The thing looks solidly put together - but most of all I thought the price remarkable.

Incidentally, when I lived in France a while back, I bought an 18 (Shimano) gear mountain bike in LeClerc supermarket in Bayeux. It was to be used as a hack to save my 'proper' bike.

Five years later, I was still using the supermarket special, nothing breaking and the only maintenance was gear adjustment, new brake blocks, the usual. To be honest, I couldn't tell it from any other bike at 3 times the price. And I flogged it on eBay for £45 after I got back to the UK.........

jerrysimon

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 27, 2009
Cambridge, UK
Interesting.

Quite frankly if that is a Lithium battery I am not sure you can go far wrong at that price :eek:

Regards

Jerry

flecc

Oct 25, 2006
Not much wrong with that, very much like the original Lafree with lead-acid, but neater.

It's a great price and replacing the batteries will be dirt cheap. The style makes it easy to clean too. Only downsides are that it will weigh about 35 kilos and be a bit slow, but well worth buying for basic transport.

eddieo

Banned
Jul 7, 2008
Blimey.....Looks decent enough for the money

I was there yesterday myself, never looked at the bikes......as they dont stock Wisper lol

Last edited:

Biged

Esteemed Pedelecer
Dec 7, 2010
Watnall, Nottingham
Only downsides are that it will weigh about 35 kilos and be a bit slow, but well worth buying for basic transport.
Its listed as 29 kilos, still heavy but quite a bargain.
You could almost buy 2 of these for the cost of 1 Kalkhoff 18ah battery, that puts it in perspective :eek:

PennyFarthing

Esteemed Pedelecer
Feb 25, 2011
Thanks for the heads up Lemmy! :)

The lithium ones are not much more expensive.