27.5+ Conversion

Forge Custom

Pedelecer
May 14, 2016
Dorset
Hi all

I've recently bought Marin's new 27.5+ bike with a view at some point to convert it.

http://www.marinbikes.com/gb/bikes/description/2016-pine-mountain-1

Being a newbie, I'm just trying to unravel what is and what isn't feasible.

I'll be riding it on and off road so will need to be able to switch modes. Because of the unusual wheel size, I'm guessing it's going to be stripping out a front or rear motor and re-lacing it back into the existing wheel.

The bit I'm struggling to get my head round is the gear situation if I went with a rear kit. It has a 1x10 set up at the mo which apparently won't work. Would a geared hub work like a Nexus! It's the gear changing bit I can't quite get a grip on.

Am not too keen on a mid motor like the Bafang 8fun as I'm not sure it'd look quite right.

Budget is around £500 inc battery but excluding whatever new gears I'll need to get.

Hope that makes some sense. Any thoughts and advice very gratefully received!

Cheers all

Matt

trex

Esteemed Pedelecer
May 15, 2011
I would suggest the £599 Oxygen CST HT kit, SWX02C rear wheel motor, 13AH battery and LCD.

http://www.oxydrive.co.uk/

Woosh only has MXUS XF07C rear wheel with cassette, Their kit with XF07C, 13AH HL battery and 18A HL1260 controller costs £500 but the SWX02C has much better torque than the XF07C.

D8ve

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jan 30, 2013
Bristol
Subtle hint trex is a Woosh man. He's recommending oxygen.
So oxygen is very good for this.
Trex,s advice is unbiased

Forge Custom

Pedelecer
May 14, 2016
Dorset
Thanks guys. Mid-way through the 30+ pages of an Oxydrive post on here! Hopefully by the end I'll have the full heads up on possible pitfalls. The 10 speed cassette seems ok for the CST HT kit - hopefully my BB will be ok for the PAS. Handlebars are quite wide at 740mm so hoping cables will be long enough too. Right - back to the Oxydrive thread. Thanks again.

snowboarder

Pedelecer
Feb 23, 2016