About to buy but I have concerns

Markxc40

Pedelecer
May 15, 2020
Hello all.
I am new to e-bikes and have been seeking and getting advice on e-bikes.
To that end I have made a choice based on the German Cube brand as being a good mix of quality and price.
I've been using my local shop to view some of the range and made my choice of a Cube Acid Hybrid one 500 Allroad 29. They had one unpacked in a box which they said they would build up for me to look at.
This they did BUT on opening the box they found they [the shop] had mistakenly labelled it as an Allroad version when they received it into stock, when in fact it was the Offroad version.
The differences being no mudguards, no lights or reflectors, different tyres, rear carry rack & no stand which Cube charge £100 onto the Offroad price to add those parts to make it Allroad.

I enquired if they could be shop fitted as I wanted the bike road legal. They enquired on their PC direct to Cube but were told the mudguards are a factory fitted item inclusive off the lights and the wiring harness they could supply other mudguards which would fit.
Problem is yes I want an e-bike but feel a little like they're taking the P*** as they are not offering any assistance to make the bike what I ordered then on top of that despite them offering free delivery they now say they have no boxes to do this and I will have to take it. ???No boxes but that one was in its box a few days ago???

Cost wise I save £100 on the Offroad version which I can put towards the required parts but they want £195 for the parts and labour so this Offroad would now cost me £95 more than the book price. If they stepped towards me someway and delivered it also I would be happy but I just seem to collecting all the costs.

I have made a small returnable deposit to hold this bike while it has the Allroad upgrades completed.