Accessories for a bike

TheBag

Pedelecer
Apr 25, 2019
Hi guys,

A big thank you for everyone that helped me select a bike.

For anyone not involved in that thread, I ended up buying an ex display Cube Cross Hybrid Pro 400 for £1350 when all the discounts were considered.

Given I am a complete novice when it comes to biking of any sort, I would like to know what I need to purchase to go along with it and any recommendations of parts.

So far I have added it to my home insurance so it is covered against theft etc, and signed up to British Cycling for liability cover (thanks to another pedelecs post for the information).

In my list of things to purchase so far, I have (although no idea what's good etc):
  • Helmet (any recommendations of something not too expensive that is "good enough"?)
  • Mudguards (no idea which ones are good and in which size etc)
  • Rack
  • Lights
  • Lock (I think it needs to be gold rated for my home insurance covered, whatever that means)
  • Bell
If there's anything I'm missing and if there are any recommendations on parts. I am only using the bike for a few miles a day so I don't want to spend crazy amounts on accessories, so whatever will do the job that will last is good.

Thanks for your help!

Raboa

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 12, 2014
Hi, congratulations on the new bike.

I would add:

1. A small /medium seatpack / rackbag.
2. Puncture repair kit
3. Tyre levers
4. A multitool
5. Spare innertube.
6. Pump.

Thanks, happy riding.

Reactions: TheBag and Tarka

vfr400

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jun 12, 2011
Basildon