Adding second motor to old Wisper bike?

Chris Maluszynski

Pedelecer
Jan 26, 2015
Hi everyone,

After having test driven a total monster bike this summer (5000Watts!) divided between both wheels, I started playing with the idea of adding a front motor to my old Wisper Works (equivalent of 905).

Does that seem doable to those of you with experience of building e-bikes? How would one go about it? Are there controllers for two wheel drive?

Or is there an easier way of adding more power to the old wisper (not sure what the motor on it is capable of in reality, I suppose it may be stripped down to make it legal?)

By the way, it's not speed I'm after, but rather torque. There are many steep hills where I use the bike.

Cheers,

Chris

Alan Quay

Esteemed Pedelecer
Dec 4, 2012
Devon
It can be done, but I'd be surprised if it's worth it. You will probably need another battery and definitely anothr controller and throttle/pedal sensor.

D8veh has done it, but IIRC he had some problems keeping his face off the tarmac.

You would be better off buying a single, more powerful kit.

Alternatively you could solder the shunt for a bit more current and therefore power.

D

Deleted member 4366

It's as simple as it sounds. Just buy a front motor kit with a bottle battery, fit it, and away you go.

Two motors require two controllers. You can get bottle batteries with controllers in them, which makes installation simpler.

You can use a single battery to power both controllers, but it needs to be able to provide at least 30 amps for two motors, which rules out your Wisper battery and most bottle batteries.